TSA Artists

Mark E

MERC, Spectral, Running Back, Golf Channel, Futureboogie

The Wolverhampton-reared, DJ/producer has had a slow, steady ascension to his status as one of the genre’s most natural talents. Mark E’s love affair with electronic dance music began early, as an adolescent when rave culture swept through England. Diving headfirst into the surprisingly fertile Wolverhampton scene, tasting house at the hands of legends like John Kelly and Frankie Knuckles, he moved to Birmingham for University where he got into a larger club scene.


Mark’s first forays into production were, naturally, edits warm, understated, and interestingly mellow, with tempos hovering somewhere between 105 and 115 BPM. (Or thereabouts.) Once “Scared,” a ten-minute rework of Womack & Womack’s “Baby, I’m Scared Of You,” found the ears of influential selectors, and more importantly, BBC radio DJ Giles Peterson, it was on, and a solid string of memorable, vinyl-only releases were introduced to the world at large. Mark went beyond edits and into original production, releasing on labels like Running Back, Golf Channel, ESP & Futureboogie, plus starting his own label, ME RC. He honed a sound that was uniquely blue collar and utilitarian classic, almost industrial house, with a tinge of disco warmth. A stellar remix for Matthew Dear’s “Little People (Black City)” introduced him to the Ghostly/Spectral fold, who released his first two albums, which proved to be as defining as anything he had done, a symbol of his unique spot in the global club music landscape, sounding simultaneously familiar and unique unlike many others.

  • 12th October 2017 Read this

    Mark E October KMAH Radio show
  • 13th September 2017 Read this

    Mark E recorded live from Spiritland 08-09-17
  • 31st August 2017 Read this

    Mark E releases E-versions #8
  • 1st August 2017 Read this

    Mark E’s Joe Jackson remix out now on Rogue Cat Sounds
  • 20th July 2017 Read this

    Mark E July KMAH Radio show
  • More News
  • Releases:
  • 2016 - Mark E - E-Versions [MERC022]
  • 2016 - Mark E - Basement Trax [FBR041]
  • 2016 - Mark E - Sky Horn [PR_09]
  • 2016 - Mark E - E-Versions #5 [MERC021]
  • 2015 - Mark E - E-Work #1 [MERC020]
  • 2015 - Mark E - E-Versions #4 [MERC018]