TSA Artists


Amadeus, Voyage, Let’s Play House

Urulu, real name Taylor Freels, is a California boy through and through. With an innate talent for sunny, contemplative chords and clever drum programming, he quickly caught the ear of Berlin’s Dirt Crew, known for releases by Mano Le Tough and Detroit Swindle. He’d go on to drop critically acclaimed releases on respected imprints such as NYC’s Let’s Play House as well as taste-making UK outlets such as Needwant and Shabby Doll.


Freels is also a beast on the decks, armed with the chutzpah to mix gnarlier Detroit and Chicago emanations with modern, envelope-pushing modern house sounds. To that end, he’s gathered a tight-knit group of producers for his own label Amadeus, a home which aims to bring it all together. With his label, he’s working with Auckland-based scene stormers Chaos In The CBD, LA house zoners Sage Caswell and Cromie and fellow Berlin ex-pat Steve Huerta. Urulu is preparing to launch a follow up EP for Melbourne mainstay Andy Hart’s Voyage Recordings and a couple of new projects with which he can indulge in the dubbed-out club sounds he’s become enamored with while living in Berlin, as well as the synth-driven disco and boogie sounds which were a constant in his Californian upbringing.

  • 11th April 2017 Read this

    The Lot Radio: Urulu with Fantastic Man & Nik Mercer
  • 10th April 2017 Read this

    Rinse FM Podcast: Urulu – 31.03.2017
  • 31st January 2017 Read this

    Melbourne Deepcast: #163 Urulu
  • 8th December 2016 Read this

    Last Gas Station Premiere: Urulu – Cinnamon Boys
  • 6th December 2016 Read this

    Les Yeux Orange #077 Podcast: Urulu
  • More News
  • Releases:
  • 2017 - Urulu - The Armadillo EP - [Amadeus]
  • 2016 - Urulu - Tochigi Descent EP - [South Street]
  • 2016 - Urulu - Air Pacific - [Cascine]
  • 2016 - Urulu - Greetings From Namek - [Voyage]
  • 2015 - Urulu & Steve Huerta - 25 Cent Color EP - [Dirt Crew]
  • 2014 - Urulu - Play Something With Words EP - [Manucci's Mistress]
  • 2014 - Urulu - Banshee Boardwalk EP - [Shabby Doll]
  • 2014 - Urulu - Moon Unit EP - [Let's Play House]
  • 2013 - Urulu & Chaos In The CBD - Never Again [Needwant]
  • 2013 - Urulu & Steve Huerta - Things I Didn't Mean EP [Dirt Crew]
  • 2013 - Urulu - Left Coast EP - [LPH WHITE]
  • 2012 - Urulu - In My Life - [Amadeus]